34th Biennial Conference Ends

The 34th Biennial Conference has come to a close. Since Thursday delegates from across the state have met in Bossier City for meetings, training and fellowship.

We would like to thank the Bossier City Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #39 for their hospitality and putting on a great Conference. Thank you to President Davis and Trustee Washington along with all of the local members that made the event a success.

The delegates at the conference chose their Executive Board for the 2022-2024 term.

Prescient Darrell Basco, 1st Vice President James “Tiger” Folks, 2nd Vice President Dawn Powell, Secretary Ronald Labarriere, Treasure Jim Gallagher, Conductor Willie Jenkins III, Guard Craig Russell, Sgt. at Arms Susan Hebert, Chaplain Pete Menkiewicz, and Chairperson of Trustees Renee Kinler. Pat Yoes will continue to serve as Immediate Past President and Kelly Gibson as National Trustee.

The Louisiana FOP recognized legislators for their law enforcement initiatives and being a champion for us in their respective Chambers. The 2021 Legislator of the Year was Representative Bryan Fontenot, House District 55 . 2022 recipients were Senator Louie Bernard, Senate District 31 and Representative Mike Johnson District 27.

Several members received the Willie Patin Lifetime Achievement Award, Billy Roth, Gus Krinke, and Pete Menkiewicz. This award is presented to members that have dedicated their life to the FOP and continue to serve the state and local lodge.

Members of the Year selected were Ronald Labarriere for his work with the National DART, responding to natural disasters supporting Brothers and Sisters after major disasters occurred. Also receiving Member of the Year was Larry Reech. Larry’s dedication to the pension system and ensuring the stability of the system for all members in the future made him a definite choice.

Receiving Officer of the Year awards were Chris Abbott from Crescent City Lodge #2. Chris works with Southern Law Enforcement Foundation in order to assist officers with their mental wellness and peer support. Andy Gaspard from Tri Parish #60 was also recognized for his commitment to bring the local lodge and community together supporting other charities like special olympics.

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!!!!


© Louisiana FOP

Website built and maintained by NEP Services

NEP WeAreUnion